‘The Slut Pill’

When the first thing you hear after morning sex with a boy you only met the night before is

Uh oh, the condom split..

you know it’s going to be a shit day.

Let’s rewind a little, shall we? I had drinks with P and went back to his – pretty standard formula. I don’t have much to say about him; 23 year old banker wanker with a cute smile and sparkling eyes, funny and smart but his work takes over his life – this type of boy seems to be available in abundance. Drinks was essentially a polite preamble to banging, completely unnecessary and only in place to make the whole thing seem less slutty.

Things then happened as they usually do. He was one of those that kept insisting we try anal and ‘accidentally’ going for the wrong hole – why do I keep meeting these boys?! Regardless, it was good sex and really what I needed after a month of not getting any action. Unfortunately I was shattered from being out the night before and so only managed to do it twice before passing out. Gutted. So, naturally, when morning rolled around I was well up for it. And this is where we left off.

Upon realising the condom had split and he had finished inside me when I was not on the pill, there was a noticeable shift in the atmosphere of the room. It was an accident. It was no one’s fault. But it was a real shitter. We came to the obvious conclusion that I would have to take the morning after pill. He apologised, I said it was fine, we got dressed and headed out into the rain to Boots. He took me there, waited outside whilst I had to have that little talk with the pharmacist, and paid for the entire little pill.

I’ve taken the morning after pill once before, but as I had snuck out of that boy’s house whilst he was still sleeping without having/leaving any name or contact information (another story for another day), he was unaware of this. So when P paid for the whole thing – I had of course said he didn’t need to – I was quite surprised. When I told my best friend, even she said

I can’t believe he bought the slut pill for you

But then I talked to two male friends about it and they said that they would do and had done the same, or at least had gone halvsies on it. So maybe there is some kind of morning after pill etiquette that I am unaware of? I’d – quite cynically – assumed that most guys would just leave it all to the girl at that point, adopting an ‘it’s her body, it’s her responsibility’ kind of approach. I am glad this seems not to be the case though. It restores a little bit of the faith I had lost in all men folk.

Have you been in a similar situation? How was it handled?

keep-calm-the-condom-has-split

6 thoughts on “‘The Slut Pill’

  1. Pingback: Things to be left in 2013 | Tackling Your Twenties Gracelessly

  2. Pingback: ‘I don’t know you won’t put me in a suitcase..’ | Tackling Your Twenties Gracelessly

Leave a Reply

